Forms that have been submitted or signed off will automatically send an email to the form submitter and the designated employee(s) responsible for signing off on the form given that their email settings are enabled.
Admins and managers can choose to toggle on/off notifications by editing a form template. To access this field, simply navigate to your organization's inspection, incident, or meeting templates and open up a template's editing page.
How does this toggle work?
All existing and new form templates will have a toggle titled “Notifications”
When this toggle is enabled users will continue to receive email notifications as they currently do.
When this toggle is disabled, the following will occur:
The “Additional Users to notify” field will be hidden
Once the template is saved and published, then the below notification rules will apply.
What are the notification rules?
When notifications on a form template have been disabled, all form submissions and sign-off notification emails will not be sent. However, there are exceptions with revision requests and action items tied to forms.
Here are the rules that will be applied when the form template notification toggle is disabled:
Form submitted - no notifications will be sent
Form signed off - no notifications will be sent
Revision request - notifications will be sent to an employee if their email notifications are toggled on
Action item notifications related to the form - notifications will be sent to an employee if their email notifications are toggled on
How do employees disable/enable form submission email notifications for their individual accounts?
If an employee no longer wants to receive form submission email notifications, they can disable it in their account's email settings. For a more detailed guide on the steps to achieve this, visit the article here.
How will this affect existing templates?
This toggle is disabled by default on all form templates. Managers are required to go to their form templates and enable notifications if they wish for employees to receive emails for submission and sign-off.
What happens once a template is deleted? How are notification rules affected?
Once the template is deleted, then already saved inspections, created out of that template will use the last saved value.
- Scenario 1: Template had notifications enabled > template is deleted > notifications for all forms that came from that template will continue to send
- Scenario 2: Template had notifications disabled > template is deleted > notifications for all forms that came from that template will not send
Does this affect any other part of eCompliance?
No, all other functionality within eCompliance will continue to work as expected.
How does this affect historical forms?
Once this is enabled or disabled from a form template, once the template is published then forms created from the template will follow the notification rules.